The worst time EVER to watch One Born Every Minute

Unfortunately, the last weeks of pregnancy we plagued with high blood pressure, which later turned out to be preeclampsia. Thankfully, it was detected early enough and I was induced at 39 weeks. Preeclampsia Story

After a trip to hospital, we got a call to say I was to be induced at 10am the following morning. 

Adam and I drove home from his mum’s house and weirdly, the first Christmas song if heard all year came on the radio – When a Child is Born. Spooky! 

We got home and a unpacked and repacked my hospital bag and packed another one for good measure! I was told that inductions could last a a few days, so I packed a few more clothes for me.

I had a shower and washed and dried my hair – God knows when I could do that again! Then I went to bed as I knew I’d be needing more energy then I’d ever needed in my life….. And couldn’t get a wink of sleep.

The next time I would sleep in this bed, there would be a little baby in that cot next to me.

The next time we would be at home together, it would be as a family.

The thoughts were whizzing through my head and after two hours of trying and failing to get some shut eye, I decided to get on the couch and try and fall asleep to the TV. I’d been sleeping on the couch a lot towards the end, it was easier to sleep sat up. 

Before I knew it I was watching a series of one born every minute. 

Holy, fucking, shit! Was it to late to back out? Could I go back in time? There I was, had about 8 hours sleep over the last five days – how the fuck could I push a baby out? I was in no fit state! Come on Luce, you can’t lose your shit now – you’ve got this!

Second series in – no I have not got this! What I have got is myself into a situation I couldn’t get out of! 

My cousin texted me. She couldn’t sleep at the excitement that she was going to meet her goddaughter soon! 

Shannon: are you asleep?

Me: no, I’m watching one born every minute.

Shannon: you crazy bitch! Turn it off now! 

Yeah, yeah, I knew I shouldn’t be watching it. I knew it was the worse thing I could be doing. I was also freaking out. Why was all my fucking sense and sanity going out of the window?! 

Surprisingly, getting to the hospital really chilled me out. I was there in the best place and everything at home was put out of my mind. 

Bouncing away on a birthing ball, you wouldn’t think I was totally losing the plot just hours before and had next to no sleep! 

Leave a Reply

