Maternity leave is great! Maternity pay is shit! We’re tightening the purse strings in our house and we’re weaning Eva early. 

Eva has had reflux and after a bit of research and first hand advice from friends with babies with reflux, I have started giving our little pea her first tastes in preparation. And guess what, her reflux is already improving – amazing! 

But how expensive is baby food when you add it all up? So I thought I’d have a bash at being a domestic goddess and make my own! How hard can it be?

I’m also under no illusions that I can pretend to be super mum all of the time. I’m notoriously lazy and I can’t be the only one who hates cleaning the food processor… Right? So although I have all the best intentions, I’m also trying her on some shop bought purées from Aldi! They’ve had great reviews and well… Eva’s not complaining either! 

Essential Equipment (and yet more baby paraphernalia to cram into your cupboards)

  • Platic bowl – a Peppa Pig one is not essential! (Or is it?) 
  • Soft plastic spoons – I’m still using my freebies from my Emma’s diary packs at the moment
  • Food processor/ Hand blender
  • Small tubs with lids
  • Icecube tray
  • Plastic bibs
  • Small cool bag
  • High chair

Quick question, why don’t they make adult bibs for parents weaning their children? It’s a messy business this weaning malarkey! 

Butternut Squash, Carrot & Cauliflower Purée 


Ingredients:

  • 1/3 of a butternut squash
  • 5 large carrots
  • 2 florets of cauliflower 
  • 100ml of water 

Method:

  1. Cut in half the butternut squash and de-seed.
  2. Spray with oil, place on a baking try and roast in the oven for 40 minutes at 180•C. – I use the rest of the squash to make myself some soup, try the recipe here – Skinny Butternut Squash Soup.
  3. Peel and chop the carrots into small chunks.
  4. Boil in a pan with the cauliflower for 20 minutes or until soft.
  5. Once cooled, remove the squash from the skin and cut into small pieces.
  6. Drain the carrots and cauliflower.
  7. Add all of the vegetables into a food processor and blitz until smooth with no lumps.
  8. Slowly stir in the water until the purée is the desired consistency.

Servings & Storage:

It’s difficult to say how many servings this recipe makes, as all babies will be at different stages eating different amounts.

Eva is only tasting at the moment and so has small portions. She still has the same amount of bottles as before.

This made enough to give her a small portion and fill my icecube tray.

Which brings me onto storage. I store the purées in an icecube tray, that way I can get small portions out of the freezer and when she starts eating more, I just take out more cubes! They also defrost quicker this way! 


So here, you get quite a lot of baby food costing less than £2 and the satisfaction of making it yourself and knowing exactly what’s in it.

Shop Bought Baby Food 

(On a budget!)

As I’ve mentioned, I have opted for Aldi’s Mamia baby food range. It’s cheap and cheerful and had brilliant reviews!


Here’s what I’ve opted for:

  • Mango, Apple and Banana purée –  59p
  • Apple, Carrot and Parsnip purée – 59p
  • Strawberry and Banana purée – 59p
  • Apple and Pear fruit pots – £1.79
  • Farley’s rusks – £1.45
  • Organic creamy porridge 1 £1.49

Eva’s loved the tastes of these so far and I can’t complain at the price! 


 

