My skin has always been good without too much effort on my part. I never got spots and it was always soft with a pretty even skin tone.

Imagine my horror when, instead of the pregnancy “glow” that everyone bangs on about, I had more break outs than the whole back seat of a school bus! And when I did manage to keep the break outs at bay, my skin resemble that of a tomato! 

Googling the issue and coming to the conclusion that I was one of the unfortunate souls who had swapped “the glow” for “the mask of pregnancy”, I was happy to read that it would fade soon after birth. 

Sure enough, the mask began to fade and I was really pleased to start to recognise the girl in the mirror again. I love my make up don’t get me wrong, but I also love those make up free days too. There’s something nice about feeling the fresh air on your bare face. It’s like a facial treat! 

Within a few weeks my skin began to turn red again and was itchy and irritated. 

Until now, I’ve not been able to put my finger on what it was. At first, I put it down to my changing hormones levelling themselves put again. 

However, being the lazy sod that I am (and forgetful, I have to mention forgetful) when I ran out of face wipes when Eva was about one week old, I reached for her sensitive baby wipes as an interim solution. 

For the first month we only used water wipes on Eva. But at £3 per pack, that just wasn’t sustainable. People had bought us other brands of baby wipes, but still, the extra sensitive new born ones.


As the wipes were extra sensitive, I thought nothing of using them and have been using them to remove my make up up until about a week ago. 

These wipes (and I don’t stick to a certain brand, just whatever is on offer) boast how sensitive they are, how there used for newborn skin and how only the best natural ingredients are used to be kind to your baby’s skin. 

I was warned about the baby wipes and how harsh they could be, but part of me put it down to people being baby snobs. You know, the people who look down their nose at other parents, who dress their kids in organic cotton and only use natural products made by nuns in the Himalayas. 

Turns out, they’re not so sensitive! To be fair, Eva’s skin seems fine and I don’t use them on her face. But it does make you think – what is in them and why?! I’ve read the ingredients on a few packs and I have to be honest, it makes no sense to me! 

I’m happy to report that my skin is on the mend now! I guess that teaches me not to neglect myself on cutting corners on my beauty regime! 

