Skinny Butternut Squash Soup

I’m currently up to my eyeballs in weaning and I’m really trying to go down the homemade road. Not only is it great that I know exactly what my daughter is eating, it’s cheaper too! 

However, as I’m making these tiny portions up for the icecube tray, I have a shed load of veggies in the house and it’s got me thinking – if I want Eva to eat and love vegetables, I should aim to get more of them into my diet too. 

I’m on my post-partum mission to shift this baby weight because I’ll be honest (always), I feel completely shitty about my body. So I’ve take my favourite full fat soup recipe and given it a healthy make over! 

Skinny Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients


1 Butternut squash 

1 chilli (optional if you don’t like heat)

2 cloves of garlic

1 large onion

1 chicken (or veg to make it completely vegetarian) stock cube with 400l of boiling water. It will depend how big your butternut squash is, but this amount usually works for me. Add it in bit by bit to be on the safe side! 

Salt & Pepper

Frylight low calorie cooking spray

Method 


Cut the butternut squash in half and scoop out the seeds.

Score the squash with a knife. This makes it easier to scoop out the flesh later.

Put the garlic cloves (unpeeled) in the holes where the seeds were.

Spray generously with frylight.

Season with salt and pepper.

Pop in the over for around 40 minutes at 180•C or until soft.


As you’re using low fat spray instead of oil, you may need to carry on checking it and applying more oil to stop the squash from burning.  

Take out of the oven and leave to cool.

Finely chop the chilli and  onion and fry in low fat cooking spray until the onions are translucent.

Scoop the flesh (hate that word) of the squash.

Add the squash to the pan along with the stock.

Snip the garlic cloves and squeeze out the garlic (which should now be like a paste) and add to the pan.

Blend with a hand blender until smooth.

The original recipe serves with a drizzle of cream but I don’t think it needs it. You could fat free natural yoghurt instead! 



One thought on “Skinny Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a Reply

